Please see the press release below, which was sent to members of the press today, June 16, 2009:

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Entertainer Louise Mandrell Joins Morgellons Research Foundation

June 9, 2009 – (Nashville, TN) -Country Music entertainer Louise Mandrell has joined the Board of Directors of The Morgellons Research Foundation® (MRF).

Louise, who has contributed time and resources to a wide range of charitable causes, has offered to support the MRF by raising awareness of Morgellons disease and its effects on afflicted individuals and their families. After two years of ineffective diagnoses and treatments, Louise’s husband, John Haywood, was diagnosed via the proposed defining criteria of Morgellons disease developed by the MRF.

Louise and thousands of other MRF registrants and their families continue to express grief about loved ones who have been misunderstood, misdiagnosed and ineffectively treated. Many individuals with this life altering illness are unable to work and may live their lives in partial or complete social isolation awaiting a cure.

Many health professionals continue to mistake Morgellons disease for a psychosomatic disorder, despite numerous laboratory and physical abnormalities including central nervous system, cardiac, pulmonary and kidney effects, and resetting of several autonomic and endocrine control loops.

The illness has been the subject of reports by major news outlets including CNN, NBC, ABC, NPR, The Washington Post, People Magazine and Newsweek as well as local news outlets around the world since the Morgellons label first appeared in 2002. The US Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) is also now conducting an epidemiological investigation of the illness.

The MRF encourages the efforts of the CDC and supports as much independent scientific research as possible to identify the cause of the illness, which will hopefully lead to a targeted treatment and cure.

More than thirteen thousand families from all fifty states as well as forty-five nations have voluntarily registered their symptoms with the MRF, suggesting this number represents only a fraction of the true number of families affected by the illness.

For more information about Morgellons disease please visit: http://www.Morgellons.org/

About the Morgellons Research Foundation
The Morgellons Research Foundation® (MRF) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization established in 2002 in honor of a two-year-old child with an unknown illness, which his mother labeled "Morgellons disease". The MRF is dedicated to raising awareness and research funding for this poorly understood illness, which can be disfiguring and disabling, and affects people of all age groups including an increasing number of children.

###

Comments on: "Entertainer Louise Mandrell Joins Morgellons Research Foundation" (18)

  1. Mr. Common Sense said:

    Also remember that Joni Mitchell also has Morgellons

    http://www.billboard.com/bbcom/news/joni-mitchell-hopes-to-spread-fiddle-1003943464.story

    The Fiddle and the Drum” remains the primary focus for Mitchell, who’s also in the midst of treatments for Morgellons syndrome, an infectious and potentially debilitating skin condition that’s put other endeavors on hold for now.

  2. While we could never celebrate the news of anyone being confronted with the challenge and suffering of Morgellons, we can and do rejoice in their willingness to use their celebrity to shine a spotlight on this condition… and hopefully facilitate the application of new resources for research and treatment options.

  3. I would not wish this on anyone, not in a million years, I am now getting calls from Dentists that are seeing this all over the place.
    I still can not believe the Number of people that are coming out en masse. It is pretty insane Stuff.
    I was just contacted by the Georgia Department of Health, OMG….this is everywhere.
    I am going to siign off for a couple of days and relax a bit.
    All these calls are giving me a headache. I will get back at you all on Sunday.

    Much Love,
    Trisha

  4. I had morgellons for 3years . I got rid of it. I can tell anyone who hsa morgellons how to get rid of it.

  5. yes I think a lot of people would love to hear your story Lisa.

  6. sistertocommonsense said:

    Would love to hear how you managed to get rid of this., people are very excited to hear from you.
    Sister to Common Sense

  7. Ms. UncommonSense said:

    I’m not Lisa–
    My name is Julie.
    But there were others who claim to have recovered from Morgellons. Follow this blog and join in on the next conference call. Interesting and informative. Lisa Feltes, please join and and do tell….

  8. Does anyone here have the gift of music? I am going down hill again and last night words like a white heat came to me. I need to share the words, but I need a melody to go with it. Thank you. Something soft and hauntingly bueatiful.

    In Light Lynn

  9. That album has wonderful music on it.

    • Hang in there Lynn. Prayers for you good health.
      This condition waxes and wanes. I find garlic helps knock it back. Raw with food or
      New Chapter capsules. Also, Mr C.s Poor Man’s protocol, especially the coconut oil, magnesium, probiotics and clean diet (limit sugar, stay away from chemicals and GMO products as much as you can).
      As Mr. C and others have said, work on your terrain.
      Rest as much as you can. Visualize your body healing itself.
      Blessings, Jade

  10. Thank you. Yes I am working at that terrain. Sense Sep of last year. Got my supplies and doing better. Still want someone to write music to this song that sudden came to me the othe day.

    In Light Lynn

  11. WHEN THE WIND BLOWS

    Stand in the breeze. I close my eyes
    Feeling every wind through me as it passes by.

    Legs braced apart. Standing against the wind.
    Lost in the beauty of the feel of my own skin.

    When the Wind Blows
    I’m not to have a fear
    When the Wind Blows
    Wonder what happen to my tears

    When one aches from the torment deep inside.
    How do we bare this and feel we have to hide.

    Skin so tight and rarely understood.
    Grab for escape. We wish we only could.

    When the Wind Blows
    I’m not to have a fear
    When the Wind Blows
    Wonder what happen to my tears

    My memory’s folded over and I don’t think I can.
    Spread out in numbers where are these grains of sand.

    Whares the world help for the strings I begin to see.
    Pretty blue colors. What do they mean to me.

    What safety from this well. That so many seem to dwell.
    Like cutting glass skin. I heard someone who fell.

    The earth has turned so deadly. No one sees our pain.
    We turn to each other. So we do not struggle in vane.

    When the Wind Blows
    I’m not to have a fear
    When the Wind Blows
    Wonder what happen to my tears

    Give me a moment to catch a little breath.
    Well give each other what little we have left.

    I’ll give you my hand and we’ll pull each other up.
    The help we give one another will have to be enough.

    We are hearts who lost hope. I will not deny.
    We tend to our wounds. We heard the battle cry.

    When the Wind Blows
    I’m not to have a fear
    When the Wind Blows
    Wonder what happen to my tears.

    Brace your legs and I will teach you how to stand. Eyes closed when the wind blows.
    Get lost in the beauty of what use to be our skin. One day at a time you know.
    When the Wind Blows

  12. When I was a high school kid I would stand under the tall pines at the school wraped snuggly in my winter coat and brace my legs against the cold strong winter winde. I would close my eyes as it passed all around me. Sometimes I would put my arms out and if would feel as if I could fly. I think thats whare part of this song comes from.

    In Light Lynn

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 413 other followers