Will Storr
The Guardian, Saturday 7 May 2011

It all started in August 2007, on a family holiday in New England. Paul had been watching Harry Potter And The Order Of The Phoenix with his wife and two sons, and he had started to itch. His legs, his arms, his torso – it was everywhere. It must be fleas in the seat, he decided.

But the 55-year-old IT executive from Birmingham has been itching ever since, and the mystery of what is wrong with him has only deepened. When Paul rubbed his fingertips over the pimples that dotted his skin, he felt spines. Weird, alien things, like splinters. Then, in 2008, his wife was soothing his back with surgical spirit when the cotton swab she was using gathered a curious blue-black haze from his skin. Paul went out, bought a £40 microscope and examined the cotton. What were those curling, coloured fibres? He Googled the words: "Fibres. Itch. Sting. Skin." And there was his answer. It must be: all the symptoms fitted. He had a new disease called morgellons. The fibres were the product of mysterious creatures that burrow and breed in the body. As he read on, he had no idea that morgellons would turn out to be the worst kind of answer imaginable.

Read the rest of the long news story here …

There are some pretty startling things supposedly said by researchers, but I doubt the veracity here.

Comments on: "Morgellons: A hidden epidemic or mass hysteria?" (4)

  1. sharon said:

    Mr C, I am still waiting on your response regarding the research data I sent you.

  2. Disappointing assessment by the Guardian reporter, but hopefully some of the information he presented will be enough to interest more legitimate researchers to take a look. The sickening responses to the article on the Guardian site show just how cruel and insensitive mankind can be.

    They wouldn’t be mocking if they had to walk a mile in your shoes.

  3. maria reina said:

    Hi all – I keep an eye on your site when well enough, I was margot the midwife that he interviewed. was sickened, thought it would be worth exposing myself to bring public awareness, before it went to print, I sent Will Storr lots of links to try and help him put together his story. I flew from Uk to Austin – unwell with the promise of being seen by Randy Whymore and whoever else would look at me and then go on to Oklahoma University to see the docs there. unfortunately, Mr Storr took the time that I should have been networking with the team from me, by the time He had done with his interrogation, I had missed the chance to get to see Randy and arrange trip to Oklahoma. I soon realised that his angle wasn’t going to be favourable for us and refused to let him use my story or my real name. I am ashamed that he is a fellow countryman of mine, shame on Will storr. Ironically, when we scoped his skin at x400 he was loaded with the twisty tangly blue fibres, he saw this along with all of us that surrounded him, I didn’t look at him with watery eyes, I just tried to reassure him. all that way for nothing, waste of time, effort and my intelligence, sorry I didn’t post before, have only just found this article was posted on your site. It is my mission to provoke interest in the UK working alongside my friends in the USA
    Thank you
    Maria Reina (margot the madwife)

  4. maria reina said:

    I don’t think Will is a Guardian reporter, this was a freelance piece – generally speaking, the Guardian is a good broadsheet, non-tabloid paper

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 396 other followers