What is the current status of the study?

Study recruitment, examination of participants, and collection of samples has been completed. We are currently analyzing the data collected.

How will CDC communicate information about this condition and the findings from the study?

On September 24, 2009, CDC convened an external review panel made up of experts from the fields of dermatology, infectious diseases, public health, and mental health which examined the study activities to date and provided advice on future activities. The panel provided recommendations and guidance to CDC about analyses they think should be conducted on the data. A summary of the findings of the peer review panel will be presented to CDC’s CCID Board of Scientific Counselors in November 2009 and will be made available on this website.

In addition, results of this study will most likely be published in a peer-reviewed scientific journal and disseminated through other channels, to CDC’s public health partners, such as State and local health departments and medical societies, and through this website.

In December 2008, CDC mailed letters to state medical associations, in case they and their members received inquiries about this condition, in order to provide an update about CDC’s activities. Letter from CDC to medical association  [PDF, 45 KB] We will provide an update to these organizations as well, when the study results are available.

From http://www.cdc.gov/unexplaineddermopathy/investigation.html


First, special thanks to Sidney for giving me a heads up on this information. And for those of you who find this post distressing, there is encouragement at the end of this post for you.

Now my analysis, which is not recommended for those who are depressed right now, but some things must be said here. First, how many years did it take to collect samples? Also, and most telling is that there are no toxicologists or parasitologists on their review panel, however there are mental health and public health folks on the team. That alone should let you know where this is heading. Tell me exactly what a public health person is or what they really do? There are other interesting usages of language in the CDC statement above which I will not dive into, but I’ve always been very good at reading between the lines and I learn more from what is left unsaid rather than what is actually said. What is not said is far more revealing.

I’m not the least bit surprised, nor angry, I knew where this was headed when they doled out that massive 360K (or whatever the tawdry amount was) to investigate Morgellons. I figure if they’re willing to spend the money it would take to buy a home in California on the study they had to be serious about Morgellons.

Hope for the best, but expect the worst, that way of thinking has always been pretty useful to me. The good news is there have been a few comments of late on various threads on this blog stating things like “I’m 50% better by adapting your protocol” and so forth, many are making very positive progress. On the flip side, I have read some very depressing news from some that have gone the pharmaceutical route on LymeBusters, and that saddens me deeply. But you have to make up your own mind on what is best for you.

For now, it appears that in November of 2009 (expect another delay) a summary of their findings will be posted on the CDC website. As sort of a fun exercise I’m thinking of writing my own summary of their findings and posting it in a few weeks just to see how close I come, my guess, it would be very close indeed.

 

A Word of Encouragement

For those of you in that dark place right now and full of fear, I know you, many of us do, I was you. I know what it’s like to check the forums everyday and hoping beyond hope for a breaking post about a cure. It is you I want to speak to you frankly for a moment. While I don’t know most of you personally I do love you as a fellow sufferers. I was you for a what seemed like a very long time, I saw no way out, I couldn’t do it on my own (or so I mistakenly thought). It eats at you, you are driven by a force you cannot control and you keep looking for the cavalry to come over the hill to save you. For the moment, let’s assume the cavalry isn’t coming. What can you do?

  1. Stop looking for the cause (it’s a waste of time, truly, it is).
  2. Realize there is no magic bullet and that in the end YOU HAVE TO DO IT.
  3. Realize there is no overnight fix, get in the fight, you CAN WIN IT.
  4. Start working on your health right now. Make the proper changes that I and others have been talking about, the kind that are very good for your overall general health.
  5. Don’t take dangerous, risky things.
  6. Realize that we (myself, friends on this blog, and others in the Morgellons community) are here, suffering right along with you, reaching out to you, trying to help you.
  7. Calm your spirit. Please, I sense so much of fear in some of the emails I receive and that is normal, I know. However, the FEAR of Morgellons can at times be worse than Morgellons itself, the stress, the anxiety, you know what I’m talking about.
  8. Get outside, don’t stay in trapped in your house afraid you will spread this all over, it’s depressing. Resolve right now to start living your life again, literally take it back by force. The more you start living your normal life the less time you have to dwell on Morgellons, it works, it really does.

If you are new around here please see this list of blog posts https://morgellonspgpr.wordpress.com/all-articles/ and read the ones in “red”, that is a great place to start.

 

God bless you all

Mr. Common Sense

Comments on: "News From the CDC Regarding Morgellons" (33)

  1. Totally agree with all that you posted. Just a side note.. I was involved in an extremely stressful situation several days ago at my son’s school.. car accident…totally my fault. Brain Fog central. My old self kicked into gear, had everyone happy, cleaned up, agreeing with all in other words I took charge of a very adrenaline charged situation.
    Walked away with a smile on my face. OOps! Biting on my back, absentmindedly scratched under my shirt/pants/belt level and found a LADY BUG biting and clinging to me .
    I had to pull it off like a tick. There will always be a level of Twilight Zone to this malady.
    Don’t mean to be a downer, but there has to be a pheromone attraction here somehow.
    Yes I am better, and I am moving forward.
    Weird stuff? Wow.

    • Lamb, I’m glad you are okay and it sounds like nobody was hurt. Great for you for taking charge and keeping a smile on your face. And you know what, there is a level of Twilight Zone to Morgellons, there is no doubt about it. How well are you, what percentage of wellness would you give yourself with 100% meaning totally free of Morgellons.

      • herehoping said:

        Hi MCS Just wanted to let you know that I am 99.9% well of Morgellons. I think there will always be that .1% but i’ll take it. It’s like Joe K said “every day without Morgellons is like winning the lottery” thanks to you, trisha, this blog and most of all to JESUS the LOVE of my life.
        P.S. Although you don’t recommend it…….I’m still sleeping with six dogs. : )

  2. Is there a simple test such as using a Woods Lamp (or other UV light) to show that a Morgellons infected person has glowing fibers in their hair or skin? (this could also show skeptics that something usual is going on…)

  3. MCS, it’d be really interesting (cynically amusing) to do a mock report of the CDC findings before they release it 🙂

    You already know that I’ve always believed (and still do) that what affects me is something external/foreign, whether it started as mites and turned into some fungal infection (which is the latest “trend” ppl are talking about lately) or whatever, one thing that definitely was detrimental for me was to lock myself up at home all day, all week. Thankfully, for the last year, my work situation has changed and allowed me to work from home. That was a real saving grace for me as I could not imagine getting myself to go to the office everyday and be around ppl. The flip side to that is the fact that I end up staying in at home all day. Sometimes on conference calls, a co-worker would comment about how she didn’t even go outside her home even once today and I would be laughing inside thinking, “you have no idea… I haven’t left my home in 9 days!”. This was especially true during the cold winter days where I would not get any comfort going outside only to freeze.

    Staying in and suffering all day furthers depression. Aside from the mental part, I believe it keeps an endless cycle of body infesting home, home infesting body. Ppl take some things that are widely reported to work, like MMS, and talk about herxing… well, great for that, you’re getting rid of stuff from your body. But if you’re stuck inside the house herxing all day, you’re just contaminating the home with whatever that left your body… at least that’s the way I see things.

    The one thing that’s really helped me was that I started running. Once the weather got warm in spring, I started running 3-5 times a week to a park nearby. I was so out of shape at first and I generally hate running b/c I find it to be painful and boring but this time around, I started seeing things that I’ve been missing for so long being holed up inside the house. Sunshine. Trees. Fresh air. People. Life. I never had brain fog like some others but what it did while I ran was to help get my mind out of the lows and give me this cheer-me-up. I enjoyed it so much that it became a routine that after work, I’d take a quick shower (yup, before the run) and then go running. Sure, it’d still be just me… it’s still a solitude activity for me… but that was so much better than being alone inside my home.

    I’m not saying exercising’s the cure but it did wonders for my mind. And not to mention the fact that I became more healthy as a result. Plus, it gave me a chance to leave my home for 2-3 hours where I don’t have to worry about my body or home infestation. I’m doing a lot better having combined exercise w/ Poor Man’s Protocol. I am also doing MMS so it’s hard to point out which one is doing the job but I’ll give both credit. But this is not all. I am also very tough on the environment and not just doing body protocols. I’ve thrown out everything fabric from my place, bought a uvc air purifier (will talk about this in more detail later), and also am experimenting w/ sprays (non-toxic). It’s an all out war. I will say, some days are better than others but in general things are getting better to the point where I seriously for the first time have hopes that the end is looming near.

    Regarding CDC, bleh. I hope to be proven wrong but I suspect nothing helpful will come out of it. They’re probably finalizing their actuarial analysis on which one is cheaper for the insurance companies to treat – treat morgellons as a medical skin problem or treat it as a mental problem… the cheaper option will prevail.

  4. First, great responses everyone. And Kixx I too have started running, I don’t really like it but I feel so much more healthy (because it makes you healthier). I’m doing this thing called the “Couch to 5k” running plan, starts off very easy ..

    http://www.coolrunning.com/engine/2/2_3/181.shtml

    You’ve probably read all about my heart issues, palpitations, chest pain, Costochondritis, well I started running and said “If I die I die” I was sick of it and started running, well, guess what, all is well.

    I added Iodine to my protocol “Idoral” but I take it VERY low dose, broke one pill up, still taking just chunks of it, well, it has helped tremendously with my Anxiety and my Palps, I’m just amazed. I’ll do a blog post on it in the future.

    Anyway, regarding the CDC, if they put out good news and cure in November I’ll be happy to eat Crow this Thanksgiving, but for some reason I think I’m still having Turkey …

    • herehoping said:

      No matter what the cdc comes out with in November……..I’m eating turkey and being thankful for MCS, this blog and Trisha.

      • sistertocommonsense said:

        Hereshoping,
        I had to add to this….maybe we can get the Naysayers and certain people I won’t mention to “Stuff it”, we are getting along just fine without you all.
        Sister to Commons Sense
        Just a bit of Sick Medical Humor

  5. Hi MRC,

    Thank you for the email.

    Just have to say that your suggestions for “LIVING” is really helping me and I hope to see others get back to “life”. We only have one here on Earth and time does not stand still. So I am no longer waiting on the CDC or anyone else. If the CDC is not afraid that this is contagious, ….. why should I?

    For the last month, I have no longer trapped myself in my apartment dwelling on things and I sure do feel so much more alive again. (It is like the “previous me” has emerged again and I am saying good-bye to self pity). There are other people around me and that in itself IS healing both physcially and mentally. Though when I first moved, I did have some very very small new lesions that have since healed but I am sure it was the stress of moving (i.e., regular stress of changing my environment). So I just continue take my suppplements/vitamins and work with my body as I know what use to always help it in the past. (pre morgellons). I have added exercise (slowly building it up)

    MCS, …. I agree with your blog summary about the CDC. I too will be happy to eat crow at Thanksgiving if the CDC surprises me. In the meantime, I will continue to write letters so that Morgellons is not forgotten. However; news outlets are not too interested. (ABC, NBC, CBS, FOX, etc). I have to wonder if they are “being told” what news to report. So much has changed over the years and I can honestely say I am happy to be “older” right now and not young beginning my adult life as my daughter is.

    It is my mission to do what I can to contribute to improving the enviornment (bringing awareness) and making it a better place for the younger folks starting new families.

    I talked with an 86 year old woman the other day and SHE KNEW about GMO food. She hand her late husband were farmers.

    Many more people are having diabetes troubles and I often find myself “teaching” that the soft drinks are no longer natural sugar but rather High Fructose Corn Syrup. Infroming people will help with the next generations. It won’t happen overnight, but it CAN change over time and with enough persistance. Power is in numbers.

    I regret not helping the environmentalist who needed PEOPLE POWER in the 1970’s and 1980’s to STOP all this. …… I have to ask would this have happened if more help came their way?

    Would our frogs be deformed?
    Would our fish be sick?
    Would our cows still be eating grass and hay instead of corn feed?
    Would our cows be roaming and getting exercise making “healthy meat” for us to eat?
    Would the PCB’s NOT be in the animals and our human fat cells?
    ( I could go on and on here…… )

    The CDC did a study and found humans from the East and West Coast had PCB’s in their fat from samples. THEY KNOW chemicals/pollution of all kinds including genetic pollution are making everything single life-form on Earth sick. Also ill is our Lakes, rivers, and oceans.

    It’s time to clean Earth’s Terrain.

    Kmarie

  6. I bet you feel better for moving.. even with your stuff. there is a mold connection somewhere in this mess. I’ve lived in the same house for 10 years.. 3 floods in the basement from heavy rains, renovating during 3rd flood. Moved back in, sick as an m dog within 9 months.has to be a connection.

  7. herehoping said:

    Lamb…….sorry about that…..here is the link.

    http://www.disclose.tv/action/viewvideo/28235/what_morgellons_fibers_are/

  8. Thanks Here. I know most of these folks peripherally. Had not seen the video.

    Like Mr. CS , I cannot concentrate on the cause any longer. I am sick, my dog is sick, our lives have been turned upside down by me because of it. My son has nothing but contempt for me and has been mentally scarred for life. My husband can barely stand to be near me, and he scratches like mad. He’s scared but won’t say so.
    I just want it to be over and I am trying like hell. I fear this is one battle that Big Bad Mommy can’t win.

  9. Lamb, What type of protocol are you doing? If ever your husband wants to talk to a man about this I’d be willing to talk to him, I could probably help aleviate some of his fears. But tell me what you are doing to get better?

  10. I am doing your whole original protocol plus I take some thyroid support, super Omega 7 and a bunch of anti fungal herbs like olive leaf and oreganol in pill and in tincture form. I have been taking 2 tbls DE Food grade since April1 (the dog gets it too). I use the sulfur soap everyday in conjunction with New Hope II. I clean with enzymes, eat only organic, no sugar few carbs. I have been running dehumidifiers and menthol atomizers for months and I still have little fungus gnats flying around. I take peppermint pills and peppermint oil in water. Charco tabs at night. I do still drink beer though, and I have the runs constantly.
    How fun! Gotta run, going to see the natural dentisit.
    PS my husband’s fear is from within, he knows he has it too but can’t bring himself to say it. I am sure he blames me, I feel so badly for him, he’s such a terrific man.

    • lamb, you stated that you “have the runs constantly”, that could mean you are taking more Magnesium than you body can handle, you should cut your dose in half. Having the runs is not good, it drains your body of vital minerals and such. Also, you are taking loads of stuff, here’s what I’d try, stop everything you are taking for an entire week, use the soap, but nothing else, sounds crazy I know, but my guess is you will feel better, and make progress. Everytime I stopped and let my body get back to normal I did better, then I would start slow and only with the necessities. I know were all different, but some of the heavy anti-fungals and like Oregano oil, Olive leaf and stuff will wipe out your gut flora even if you are replacing it. Honestly, try going cold turkey, at the very least you need to back off on Magnesium if you are taking it.

      I recommend everyone go off thier protocol at least for one week every few months and see how you do, you will find that you have jump started your body towards healing and will feel better even without taking stuff, in fact, you might be overdoing it. You have to trust yourself, go off everything, even the poor mans protocol for a week, I’ll bet you say you do feel better at the end of that week.

  11. sistertocommonsense said:

    I would also add to this….If you are having diarrhea Keifer that is sold in the store or a good Yogurt without a bunch of junk in it is really good for reclaiming your Gut Flora.
    Sister to Common Sense

  12. MCS and Sister , Thank you for your responses and for caring, I appreciate it more than you will ever know. I cannot eat yogurt or drink Kefir, anything with sugar is out. Black specks and fungal gnats are back, although not as badly as last year..yet. I am aware of the side effects of the magnesium but this has been going on since my onset last late summer/early fall, just a tad bit worse now. The Natural Dentist visit was fascinating, I will report more later, family time.
    Yes, I think it’s somewhat of a scam.
    Yes, I think it has it’s merits also.
    Yes oh Yes, it is ridiculously expensive and over bearing in “overkill”.

    Thank you so much for all input, I am somewhat panicky as these months approach , I cannot live through that again. So in spite of your great and trusted advice, I am not budging right now. The fact that I can even sleep in a bed is a miracle to me, losing that would set me right over the edge!
    We are all different but I would stake my life on the “bug” involvement theory, I know what I see.
    Best to all and God Bless,
    bbl with dental report.
    lamb

  13. Lamb, Another idea for restoring good intestinal flora withouth the the dairy/sugar: lacto fermented vegetables. Homemade, or high-quality store bought sauerkraut is key. It should be made with salt and cabbage, no vinegar. I agree that you really need to get rid of the diarrhea so that your body can absorb maximum nutrition. Otherwise all the vitamins and minerals from MCS’s protocol aren’t helping you build your body like they should. Best of luck, hang in there.

  14. Thank you Susan, I appreciate your suggestion. Unfortunately even mentioning sauerkraut sends me running for the porcelain goddess! Why do all the things that are good for us have to be so repulsive??? I am going to cut back on the mag today and skip the oreganol/olive oil tinctures and see how it goes.
    The Dentist that I saw yesterday claims that pretty much anybody who has metal in their mouths has “leaky gut syndrome”. I have not had time to read all of the literature that they gave me but I will post what the Dentist discussed with me after I have a chance to digest all of the reading material. God Bless.

  15. sistertocommonsense said:

    Another interesting thing to note is that once we thought that ulcers were caused from stress then in the 90’s they realized that they began as a bacteria that lie dormant in the body. Then they began treating with antibiotics.
    Now they realize that stress triggers the bacteria to increase, thus creating more of a bacterial load on the Gut causing ULCERS.
    Many practicioners are now realizing decrease stress, change the diet, add good probiotics and amino acids….Voila…………….Ulcers gone.

    I love the part about Exercise and how important it is every day. Kixx keep it up.
    When people are in a state of panic, go outside and take a short brisk walk.

    When I was a baby, I know I was a handful….my Mom and Dad used to put me in the car and take me for a ride to the park, it calmed me down.

    Go to the park or go to a place near you and look at the beauty and wonder of the outdoors.
    Reclaim your terrain and what you look at and do every day. Change the old negative thinking and patterns to more positive thoughts and patterns.
    Reclaim Your Mental and Physical Terrain,
    Sister to Common Sense

  16. MCS – Thanks! I think I am taking that already but I’ll check. I didn’t take the mag today and voila! No runs! I’ll have a small cup before bed and see how it goes. Thanks so much!

  17. I meant to mention that the Natural Dentist I saw yesterday said that if you have metal in your mouth, you have leaky gut! Just checked, it’s in the Whole Food Amino Essentials 70% RDA. I am going to read all of the literature that they gave me tonight and will report back tomorrow. God Bless us all!

  18. Well Silly MCS…did you think I came up with that on my own? I’m thinking NOT.
    I can’t come up with the car keys for cryin’ out loud! The only extra stuff I take is the tinctures.. Oreganol, Olive Leaf, Ginger, Gingko, Cat’s Claw, Pau D’Arco, peppermint oil,GSE and Ginger. BUT the most important thing I love is the Cell Food, I take it with the Opaline Oxy dry and I swear those two things can quell the creepy crawlies and stings within a ten minute span or so. Oxygen is a primary force here and very lacking in patients of all of these debilitating diseases. I can’t help but wonder about the hyperbaric treatments. A dear friend and neighbor has O2 shipped into his home as he was on death’s door for quite some time, I’d love to try it out just out of curiousi.ity. Oxygen is mentioned alot in the Dentist’s literature, haven’t finished it all yet.

    Sorry for the double post re: leaky gut…. thought it was a different thread and did not read the “above’s”.
    Big Articles Re; A dentist named Hal Higgins in Colorado Springs CO re:Root Canals: Savior or Suicide.
    Two Articles in a journal called http://www.wellbeingjournal.com Sept/Oct issue regarding GMO foods, the article following it…brain fog …. then another regarding statin treatments for heart disease and it’s lack of efficacy. Hubbie takes lipitor so that caught my eye.
    They recommended “oil pulling” as a gargle with coconut oil also from above journal, the November/ December issue of 2008.
    The third is in regard to Adverse Health Effects of Palladium which is dental metal alloy used when we old farts were growing up.
    I find all of this fascinating. I also find it fascinating that my home and dog are infected and I am quite sure that neither of them has been to the Dentist!!

    This is all just FYI, I am not buying into anything.
    Report back tomorrow when I hope to have time to do my homework.

  19. Okay Wellbeingjournal.com it’s Volume 18 No.5 The Cover with the Sprout on the front. It’s a subscription only, I will try to copy and scan at my next appointment.

  20. Thanks MCS. I actually knew what you meant, I was complimenting you on being smarter than the average bear! I will check it out! Thanks. Just an FYI, skipped the Calm’s altogether, Stomach issues vastly improved, however had major heart palps when I awoke
    and I am somewhat itchy. Just going to drop my dosage for now, Thanks for all that you do MCS, You Rock!

  21. sistertocommonsense said:

    STEVIA, STEVIA, STEVIA OMG it is Great.

    Stevia is a genus of about 240 species of herbs and shrubs in the sunflower family (Asteraceae), native to subtropical and tropical South America and Central America. The species Stevia rebaudiana, commonly known as sweetleaf, sweet leaf, sugarleaf, or simply stevia, is widely grown for its sweet leaves. As a sweetener and sugar substitute, stevia’s taste has a slower onset and longer duration than that of sugar, although some of its extracts may have a bitter or licorice-like aftertaste at high concentrations.

    If you like sweeteners with NO Sugar that do not degrade the Terrain check this out. I have been drinking this in my Herbal Teas and it is absolutely fantastic. It can be used to treat obesity, does not affect Blood Glucose and does not degrade the Terrain.

    With its extracts having up to 300 times the sweetness of sugar, stevia has garnered attention with the rise in demand for low-carbohydrate, low-sugar food alternatives. Medical research has also shown possible benefits of stevia in treating obesity and high blood pressure. Because stevia has a negligible effect on blood glucose, it is attractive as a natural sweetener to people on carbohydrate-controlled diets. However, health and political controversies have limited stevia’s availability in many countries; for example, the United States banned it in the early 1990s unless labeled as a supplement. Stevia is widely used as a sweetener in Japan, and it is now available in Canada as a dietary supplement.

  22. Thanks Sister! I just want a dang brownie or a hot fudge sundae! Woe is me!

  23. I am a Morgellons sufferer and work in the media. I am launching a tv/radio channel for the Morgellons community in November and would like to hear from anyone worldwide who’d like to participate – sufferers, medics, and scientists. It is a totally voluntary operation – there’s no funding or commercial interest involved. You may remain anonymous. I encourage contributions from sceptics, dermatologists etc though they should expect to be interviewed robustly.

    A well as guest interviews another major element of the programme will be a live phone-in. People will be able call in live using Skype while we are on air. The channel launches in November at: http://www.ustream.tv/channel/morgellons for a month after which reaction and support will be assessed to see if we should continue.

    You will find the email address for contact on the promo video at the channel url.

  24. […] Delusion of Parasitosis" article had any effect on this delay. Well, the good news is I won’t be eating crow for thanksgiving but turkey, that is, if they too aren’t found to have H1N1. Is that link to the PDF above for […]

Leave a Reply

