sprite_showerhead

The Sprite White High-Output Shower Filter (shown left) contains a reversible filter cartridge that will filter the shower water for one year. This high performance shower filter combines easy operation and maintenance with the ultimate in structural integrity and over-all reliability. The High Output is the strongest replaceable shower filter available on the market today

This Sprite Shower Filter features a replaceable filter with a lifespan of 1 year. In addition,they are all supported by a 1-year limited manufacturer’s warranty or a limited lifetime manufacturer’s warranty.
The Replacement Filter is "High Output Cartridge" (HOC).

It can be easily reversed and operated in both directions. Periodic reversing of the cartridge not only eliminates channeling (ensuring balanced filtration) but also back-flushes the filter.

 

Taking long hot showers is a health risk, according to research presented last week in Anaheim, California, at a meeting of the American Chemical Society. Showers, and to a lesser extent baths, lead to greater exposure to toxic chemicals contained in water supplies than does drinking the water. The chemicals evaporate out of the water and are inhaled. They can also spread through the house and be inhaled by others. House holders can receive 6 to 100 times more of the chemical by breathing the air around showers and bath than they would by drinking the water.

On one hand, chlorination has freed civilization from the constant dangers of waterborne epidemics. On the other hand in the mid –70s scientists discovered that chlorination could create carcinogens in water. 80% of the population drinks chlorinated water. There was a higher incidence of cancer of the esophagus, rectum, breast and larynx and of Hodgkin’s Disease among those drinking chlorinated surface waters. Volatile organics can evaporate from water in a shower or bath. Conservative calculations indicate that inhalation exposures can be as significant as exposure from drinking the water, that is, one can be exposed to just as much by inhalation during a shower as be drinking 2 liters of water a day. People who shower frequently could be exposed through ingestion, inhalation and/or dermal absorption.

See http://tinyurl.com/y8jbxsu for more information on Chlorine and Hot Showers. But don’t let this scare you to death, we all grew up without Chlorine filtering shower heads, I’m just letting you know there are relatively inexpensive measure you can take. To me, installing this in the kids bathroom is very important.

or see http://tinyurl.com/ycnwswy

Back when I was really sick I was having severe “thyroid like” issues and in my reading read where Chlorine was bad for the thyroid gland. My research turned up this “Sprite High-Output Shower Filter” as the one that they tested that truly did removed the Chorine as advertised. This is a luxury I agree, and I don’t really think it’s required for recovery from Morgellons. However, if you or your family members love to take hot showers (and who doesn’t) it seems a good investment with the cost being roughly $40 dollars per shower head. You simply unscrew your old one and install this one. Don’t get the lesser “Sprite” model, you want the “Sprite High-Output Shower Filter”. You can order through Lowes and have it shipped to your local store with no shipping costs (most Lowe’s stores don’t carry it in stock).

From my reading breathing in all the steam is probably more dangerous that even the skin absorption.

Comments on: "Filtering Chlorine out of your Shower" (7)

  1. Excellent idea, and very helpful to reduce every day toxic exposures. I already use a different model, but plan to try this one for the high output potential.

  2. Mr. CS,

    I don’t know if you are aware that commercially-processed chicken is commonly dipped in a chlorine bath. I just read about it a few days ago.

    Here are a few links. There are a lot more if you google “chlorine in chicken.”

    http://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-1022821/Dirty-US-chicken-washed-chlorine-heading-British-shops-E-C-seeks-improve-relations-America.html

    http://www.thepoultrysite.com/poultrynews/14967/chlorine-bleached-chicken-coming-to-eu

    http://www.thedailygreen.com/living-green/blogs/organic-parenting/chlorine-chicken-55063002

    http://findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m3741/is_n9_v42/ai_16131103/

    Fortunately our water is from a 300′ deep well drilled through solid white quartz and green granite and is probably as clean as is available anywhere.

  3. Sharon, it’s even worse than that, they soak the beef in amonia and then feed the slaughter house floor slop to the children in America as school lunches. And the spent egg-laying hens? who are absolutely disgusting and spent their whole lives on antibiotics, that’s yer kids mechanically shredded, reconstituted chicken nuggets in your school lunches. It’s great for the budget, cheap, the same stuff they use for dog food. Even Campbells stopped using Spent Hens years ago.

    FDA Declares Amonia a food additive – LOL
    http://www.nytimes.com/2009/12/31/us/31meat.html

    Old-hen meat fed to pets and schoolkids
    http://www.usatoday.com/news/education/2009-12-08-hen-meat-school-lunch_N.htm

    Needless to say, our kids bring their lunch, and shower in Chlorine free water and don’t breath in Chlorine laden steam. Maybe we can save them from the horrors of this disease. It’s not like we’re doing radical things, bringing lunch and installing this shower head, two big problems solved.

    I’m in my mid 40’s, my life is already toxed out, they still have a chance.

    • Mr. CS, those articles were difficult reading. Years ago I was confident that government inspected meat was safe. I knew that standards had deteriorated, but I never expected them to have deteriorated this far.

      I already avoid farm raised seafood and any food from China. I’ve cut way back on meat. It looks like I’ll be cutting back even farther on it now.

      I know there are chemicals and pesticides in our veggies and fruits, but can’t afford to go all organic.

      Sad when our necessary food is poisoning us.

      I do appreciate the information, though.

  4. Sharon, I wish we all had our own planet to start things over again. The mind numbed robots along with those trying to get rich at all cost can have this planet. And we, who just want to wake up feeling well, live in a clean world, and not worry about the man made rat-race can have another planet. What a mess, I wonder if I can live off of my True Protien and water alone? (I’m kidding, but only half).

  5. As far as necessity of chloring free h2o for recovery from Morgellons, I believe I have read that chlorine kills your good flora–you should have good bacteria on your skin as well as in your gut–maybe John B. would know more about this.

  6. Interesting conversation! It was right about the time that I figured out what was “bugging” me, that I began to smother myself with coconut oil after every shower or bath, and of course this correlates with when I started the poor mans protocol (or at least a portion of it). Thankfully I have not had lesions from this “disease”, but I did have some very nasty chemical burns from Permethrin (because I thought at the time that it was scabies), and the coconut oil definitely helped to not only soothe, but also heal those chemical burns. Now I am wondering if the coconut oil is also protecting me on the chlorine front?

Leave a Reply

