bedbugsdenied

By SUSAN DONALDSON JAMES

May 31, 2011

Christine Lewis said she was just being honest with the nurse at Colorado’s Aurora Medical Center when she showed her the festering bites on her arms just before she was to have a spinal injection for her back pain.

But when the doctor arrived, instead of showing compassion, Lewis alleges he refused to do the procedure, telling her, “it could be in your hair, it could be in your clothes and we can’t have you bring that into our operating room,” and then just “ran out the door.”

“I was flabbergasted and mortified,” Lewis told ABCNews.com. “He totally disregarded me. I told the hospital, now I know how AIDS patients felt 20 years ago. Everything he said implied I was a dirty person, not up to standard and that’s not right.”

Lewis, 43, has had three back surgeries since she was in a car accident in her teens and was all set to get a nerve-blocking procedure for her dislocated tail bone. A former pharmacy technician, she has been disabled for the last 10 years because of her condition.

“No one ever walked into my pharmacy to show us something that was wrong and we said, ‘Ew, wait a minute.’ We would say, ‘Let me take you to the pharmacists who’ll know.’ That’s what we were taught to do. And we’ve seen some pretty nasty things at the pharmacy.”

Lewis said she had assumed the bites were bedbugs, but “the fact is, [the doctor] couldn’t determine if they were bedbugs or bug bites.”

“I had been bitten a lot and they were red and inflamed and weepy,” said Lewis. “The doctor gave me a perfectly good medical explanation why he didn’t want to do the procedure. But then he went on to show ignorance, telling me I could bring the bugs into the hospital on my hair and clothes. They could come in on a delivery truck or anyone who walks in to the hospital. I am not a dirty person. He went too far.”

Aurora Medical Center South spokesman Joanna King said that when Lewis disclosed the bedbugs, “standard protocols” were put in place.

“The treatment team consulted our infection prevention nurse, who advised them on cleaning and containment procedures, and advised that from an infection control standpoint they may continue with the spinal injection,” said King, who is vice president of human resources and strategic development.

But the doctor, assessing the patient just before the procedure, determined that the bites posed “an increased risk for infection” and decided to reschedule the elective procedure.

As for his behavior, said King, “The medical center and all staff are committed to treating all patients with compassion and dignity and I am confident we did so.”

According to the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, bedbugs are “experts at hiding.” They can fit into small spaces and stay for long periods of time without eating. They are usually transported from place to place as people travel in luggage, folded clothes, bedding and furniture. Unlike, other parasites such as ticks or lice, they do not travel on a person’s body.

Lewis, who is married, lives with her husband, mother-in-law, sister-in-law and two of her children, said she doesn’t intend to sue and isn’t even demanding an apology, but just wanted to create public awareness over the way she had been treated. Lewis also refused to reveal the name of the doctor because he will continue to treat her.

Afterwards, Lewis said she went to her primary doctor who was “upset” about the way the hospital handled her case. The bites were, in fact, from bedbugs, according to Lewis, whose doctor gave her antibiotics and the steroid Prednisone to prevent infection.

“I am a diabetic,” she said. “The doctor didn’t want to take any chances.”

Since then, she said she has checked out her home and fumigated for bedbugs.

“They are hard to get rid of,” Lewis admitted. “And it’s very costly.”

Read the entire story here …


I can understand them not wanting to do a medical procedure on a person with open wounds, but we are only talking an injection here. What strikes me is the fear in the doctors, but it goes further than this. This why in large part doctors are afraid to discuss parasites. Because if “you could have them, they know darn well that that means they could as well” and that is just to horrifying a possibility for them to consider. This is why they ask you “Where have you traveled” when you suggest you may have parasites even though the CDC itself has posted that greater than 10% of pet owners are infected with their pets hookworms and other parasites. The truth is there are very few parasitologists in the United States and most of them couldn’t fight their way out of a wet paper bag.

From a reaction stand point of the medical community, I think this shed’s some light into our predicament …

Comments on: "Woman With Bedbugs Bites Denied Medical Treatment" (6)

  1. Ha! Ha!

    I had Morgellons (the real thing)
    and turned up at my local carecenter with huge sores on my thighs and lower legs.
    I wanted to show the nurse and the doctor present that yes, there were infact black
    ‘specs’ (dried blood, etc) and small beige and red, dead worms in my tissue that – if they would care to watch – fell out when I pressed on the tissue and plucked them out. The result of my effort to show them this condition was…

    The nurse got visibly pale and shouted: “Don’t do it!”
    Then she threatened to call the police.
    (Yep, she actually did.)
    When I asked them if they had access to internet and perhaps would google
    the word ‘Morgellons’ in order to understand what I tried to tell them, then
    the doctor turned around and started to literally stare att the wall, he didn’t say
    a word. I was (at the time) physically weak and I didn’t feel too great at all,
    to get this reaction from ‘professionals’ didn’t exactly help me. (Understatement.)

    I don’t think the bitemarks Lewis had has anything to do with Morgellons,
    but it would be nice if doctors didn’t react like 4-year olds…
    And don’t take steroids. (Prednisone.) It causes cancer.
    Try to boost the immune system instead.
    Take ESSIAC. It’s totally canadian.

    • I just heard the story of a Canadian nurse who was curing people with cancer years ago using ESSIAC (her last name spelled backwards CAISSE). Must get some.

  2. Torpedolynn said:

    I have been using Essiac tea sense the very begaining of my protocal 2 years ago to help me get to whare I am. It helps greatly. I took it 4 times a day for almost a year and droped down to 2 times a day for maintenance. I had to build up to the 4 times a day, because it detoxs very well and at first gave me headaches, but I was very toxic and most any detox would give me adverse results.

    In Light Lynn

  3. herehoping said:

    “But the doctor, assessing the patient just before the procedure, determined that the bites posed “an increased risk for infection” and decided to reschedule the elective procedure.”
    They love to throw “elective procedure” in there. The woman chooses NOT to be IN PAIN , therefore it is an “ELECTIVE PROCEDURE”. They make me sick.

  4. this woman would likely have lyme disease/morgellons now that she has been bitten multiple times by bed bugs/bird mites and or lice, (which are off birds). And she has many of the symptoms already, the fact that her spine is or was already damaged from an accident, means one of the spirochetes favourite hiding places, is also already scarred and damaged, so they would be loving it there. AND she sould definately not be taking steroids etc, as when one has LymeMorgellons, this could be a death sentence and at best you will get 10 times sicker and may become incurable.

    J

  5. Debbie Thompson said:

    My daughter and I ended up in a shelter, after I was denied disability for Lyme/Rocky Mountain Spotted Fever, major depression, CFS, fibromyalgia, etc. The place was infested with bedbugs (they found it more important to put their favorite politician on their payroll, and pay him $95,000.00 a year, rather than to tent their building. Strange, I was on IV antibiotics, and they weren’t biting me, but my poor baby got all bit up. At the ER, the doctor stood about 10 feet away, wouldn’t come any closer, just prescribed a scabies cream, and tried to run out of the room. I demanded an antibiotic for my child, and she reluctantly gave her one, which she was allergic to. When I took her to her pediatrician, she didn’t want to give her another antibiotic, at first, until I pointed out a few bites that could’ve passed for a spider bite. There is another “big lie” going around that bedbugs do not spread disease. How stupid do they think we are? It was nothing short of a miracle, that we didn’t take any bedbugs with us, after leaving the shelter. Being one of the few people there who had a car, I would take people to the hospital, when need be, and they were all turned away, with nothing, when they had bedbug bites. I could write a book on that whole experience.

Leave a Reply

